Globalisation has advantages and disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Due to globalisation, people have witnessed an economic boom, which led to the advent of the affluent society, and are enjoying a decent life. However, advantages are usually accompanied by disadvantages, and one of them is global warming which is worrisome and vital. From my point of view, when enjoying the convenience brought by globalisation, we cannot overlook the consequences of it. Thanks to globalisation, it is undeniable that people's lives have been improved enormously, compared to a pre-globalised world. For example, in the past people were less willing to travel abroad because of extravagant flying tickets and limited flights. In contrast, people nowadays can easily fly to an adjacent country at a reasonable cost for a holiday trip, or to remote nations if time allows. As a result, it is not difficult to believe that people these days have become more pleasant than before. On the other hand, people must have the awareness of a catastrophic ramification that globalisation can bring, like global warming. In a consumer society, in order to earn more money from customers, suppliers will build more factories to produce more commodities, and such an activity will exacerbate the total amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, such as carbon dioxide and methane. If this trend cannot be constrained, the next endangered creature will be humans themselves, especially those who live in the littoral area. In conclusion, while people can benefit from globalisation in terms of welfare, the consequences of it cannot be ignored. In my opinion, pursuing eudaimonia is human nature, but avoiding humankind’s extinction is of utmost importance.