Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim that governments should invest in railways instead of roads. I agree with this statement to some extent because of the more environmental and safety benefits that railways provide. On the one hand, I admit the roads have some potential benefits. Firstly, roads may be more beneficial in a near destination. For instance, in short distances people can use their private cars whenever they decide, and do not need to buy tickets railways companies schedules. In this way, they might save time and even money. Furthermore, there are a lot of local roads which already used by people, and renovating these roads have less cost than construction of a whole new railway. However, the advantages of investment in railways are remarkably overweight. First, railways are more eco-friendly than roads in various ways. The technology of using electronic trains, which expanded day-by-day, results in less use of natural resources, and also this leads to less air pollution problems. In addition, the construction of railways needs less space than roads, meaning less deforestation will happen. Moreover, railways offer more safety to their users. For example, figures in Iran show that accidents are noticeably less common in railway transportations, and while the number of road accidents increases every day, this has a reverse pattern in railways. In conclusion, although the construction of roads construction should not be neglected, pororzing railways are more beneficial, and hence it is more responsible