It is generally believed that the Internet is an excellent means of communication but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most important inventions of this modern world is the Internet. The Internet plays a crucial role in day to day life and is the best tool for communication and gathering information. Although most people agree that the benefits of the World Wide Web outweigh its cons, some people argue that not all the information found on the web is accurate. I personally think that, even though the web has some disadvantages overall, it is really a helpful tool in our daily life. To begin with, mass communication witnessed a great reformation after the Internet was introduced. It has successfully replaced traditional means of sending letters via post and phone calls. People can now communicate with each other instantly through video calls, voice calls and messages over the net. It has also subsequently reduced the high tariffs one had to pay before. For example, a recent study suggested that most humans do not hesitate to migrate to another country since automation has closed the distance gap between people and their relatives and friends back home. On the other hand, However, easy and quick information has also led to spreading false information by many anonymous websites. The authenticity of websites is questionable by many people. The risk of publishing false rumours and incorrect news can cause a lot of damage to society. For instance, videos relating to religious matters can have an adverse effect on a multi-religious country like India. Though the source can be easily traced, it is very difficult to control this wrong information from spreading. In Conclusion, Although the disadvantages can have some serious adversaries, the advantages outweigh them. Since nothing can be deemed flawless in this world, I believe people should personally take responsibility before blindly trusting any information and surf only on trusted websites for authentic information.