It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in under developed countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Working for a charity helps underprivileged people and to consider a selfless act. Nowadays, getting involved in a charity organisation is popular among youngsters by taking a one year break between high school and college in order to do charitable work abroad. Although this trend has numerous benefits, it has few drawbacks. In this essay, we shall discuss both the merits and demerits of this recent trend. There is no doubt that charitable work increases one’s personal and professional skills. Going faraway place from your hometown for the purpose of bearing hands to people in need raises your awareness and gives you opportunities to expand your sense of empathy. For instance, if you do a volunteering job in poorer nations, you will have a chance to see under which conditions people have to live there. To witness it, helps you come to the realisation that there are so many other people out there who will never have wealth opportunities, As a result of that, you discover that true wealth is living humanely and learning to be more gratitude what you have in life. Regarding the disadvantages, the cost of your travel and accommodation fees might be expensive. You will also have to pay for your flights. Apart from the cost of your travel, you might feel homesick and sometimes you might find yourself thinking that your friends are moving on without you, starting their education. Moreover, another downside of charitable work abroad is that it might be quite shocking for young people to be confronted with the reality of the World. For instance, if you volunteer in a third-world country, chances are that you will be quite shocked regarding how people have to live in those countries. To sum up, even though the drawbacks of the practice of taking a temporary break and getting involved in charitable work, it has largely a positive impact on a person’s life and hence we should encourage this.