Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Authorities ought to invest in trains compared to building highways. This essay moderately agrees with this statement as it discusses the preference of rails compared to buses or other vehicles on Road; thereafter, it clarifies the downside of the rail such as investment. To initiate with, rail is the most preferred service in many parts of the world. One of the biggest advantages of trains is the fastest service for people without any issues of traffic; therefore, the betterment of services in the communication industry can only be achieved through rails rather than building highways. In addition, trains are the safest and the reliable service, which is also environmentally friendly as most of the trains operate on electricity. That is why rails are the most popular means of transport with the people in the developed world. In the United Kingdom, for instance, 90% of commuters prefer trains to buses due to its numerous facilities such as safety, reliability and environment-friendly transport. Therefore, the train is preferred in most parts of the world. In contrast, regulators do not prefer the rail due to the high investment cost of infrastructure development & maintenance compared to the highway building cost as it may not be feasible for numerous countries; nevertheless, heavy stuff can only be carried quickly on roads compared to the slow-moving specific trains due to the commercial reasons. Furthermore, trains can be an expensive mode of transport for commuters, which is experienced by most of the people of the developed world. In England, for example, people are spending one- third of their incomes on regular train journies according to the survey by Transport for London. To conclude, the train can provide the fastest, reliable, and pollution-free service to the people, but the infrastructure and consumption cost can be an expensive option for people; consequently, it cannot be used for business purposes.