Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

According to many, recycling of household items is not enough, and legal enforcement from governments is required. This essay moderately agrees with this statement as it discusses how legal enforcement is going to save the environment; thereafter, it clarifies how legal enforcement could hurt manufacturers of non-recyclable stuff. To initiate with, increasing the recyclable waste is a vital issue for the government to save the environment. Final consumers are not segregating their rubbish at homes, which is resulting reduced amount of recyclable-waste collection from home. In addition, this packaging of different stuff is destroying soil’s fertility and polluting our seabed. Due to the non-recyclable packaging, the fertility of our land is destroyed, and the existence of sea creatures is also questioned in the media. In Australia, for instance, a survey indicates that 500 types of sea fish are in the threat of existence due to these non-recyclable items. Therefore, legal enforcement is necessary to save our environment. In contrast, the government is seeking legal steps against these non-recyclable packaging manufacturers. Because these manufacturers are not changing their production procedures after many warnings from the regulatory bodies. As a result, several countries have started penalising these companies due to the destruction of the environment. For example, the United Kingdom has recently penalised equivalent to $500, 000 to these packaging manufacturers as they did not change their production procedures, according to the source of the daily mail. To conclude, legal bindings for consumers is required which will ensure the increase of recyclable waste. On the other hand, penalising manufacturers of non-recyclable items will hurt their bottom line, which will encourage the change of procedures.