Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been pointed out that giving chances to elder individuals to let them continue working in a suitable position is a good thing. Personally, I completely agree with this idea as this trend has countless benefits not only to companies but also to these old generations. First of all, providing job opportunities to older people can bring economic benefits to organizations. This is because those who are in their mid-sixties have accrued a great deal of experience, which not only helps firms to deal with various issues effectively and efficiently but also can enrich younger staff’s mindset, thus improving corporations’ productivity and profitability. For instance, a massive majority of owners of accounting firms say that they prefer to employ well-qualified accountants who are 65 years old, as those professionals have sufficient work experience to help firms to cope with a variety of financial problems, making organizations more profitable and productive. Furthermore, having a job in their later years is beneficial to older generations’ mental and emotional well-being. The reason is that when having retired from their jobs and staying at home every day, older people normally are less likely to accept a new lifestyle and even struggle to feel fulfilled and rewarded, which may result in several psychological problems for them. By contrast, if those who have retired are offered an opportunity to continue working in a firm, they are able to make several contributions to organizations and interact with their team members, making them feel satisfied, which has a huge number of benefits to their mental and emotional conditions. For example, in China, a great deal of news points out that older retirees are suffering from insomnia and depression, as they are unable to adapt to the change of lifestyle and feel they are less useful. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about offering suitable jobs to retired populations is a good situation or not, while I am of the opinion that this is a positive circumstance as it brings several advantages not only to corporations but also to elderly residents.