Write about the following topic: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The rubbish being produced by households and industries are rising at an alarming rate. In this essay, I will explore some of the factors that increase waste generation, and possible solutions for it. To begin with, the increase in the use of packages is the primary source of excessive production of waste. Companies nowadays use different materials like plastic,rubber, polythene etc. Although these packages are very attractive, they are made of non-biodegradable materials and do not decompose. Since the package is often discarded after use, it increases waste production. In addition to this, people nowadays followers use and throw culture. Companies are now focusing more on developing cheap and disposable products, people now prefer to acquire new stuff instead of repairing the old ones. As per the tech giant Apple, their mobile phones are replaced 80 per cent of the time even for a small screen crack or glitch, which can be repaired. Ultimately such practices create more and more rubbish. The solutions are not simple but they do exist. The government by law should enforce companies to use only decomposable materials for packaging. For instance in India, businesses and individuals are not allowed to use plastic less than 30 microns. In addition, manufacturers should recycle their products to a certain extent. Furthermore, the government should educate the citizens about the importance of waste reduction, reusable products and recycling. Also, the government can develop recycling plants that reward food, beverage or money. Through these measures, waste generation can be limited to a certain extent. In conclusion, despite there being many factors such as packaging, disposable commodities that increase waste production, the state can reduce this by implementing rules and educating its citizens.