Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Describe the skills a person needs to be a good parent. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Parenting is a complex and dynamic task in society because it requires everyday learning and requires changing behaviour and actions in different situations. I do agree that schools should play their part in educating young persons on the idea of being a good parent. Assertiveness is a skill required to be a good father and mother. The idea of being assertive shows that a parent is firm and confident about their decisions. Whereas, this is shown in a positive attitude. For example, if a child has been continuously warned about running in the house but continues and accidentally breaks the vase. The disciplining method showed by the guardian showed being assertive. This suggests that the child should be spoken to firmly and not resort to corporal punishment as the first resort. A suggestion would be to place them in the naughty corner or for their tablet or phone to be confiscated for a period of time. Additionally, an authoritative parenting style should be a skill for being a good parent. This involves the guardian showing understanding and trust towards the child, however, also forming rules. Being authoritative allows the father and mother to create and implement rules, such as curfews. On the other hand, they allow the children to share their views on these rules and give suggestions which allow for an agreeable conclusion. These parents trust their children and allow some independence. For instance, they would trust that the curfew time will be met and show reflexibility if minutes after. In conclusion, it would be a good idea for schools to engage in educating young children on how to be good parents. Furthermore, other institutions in society can also play their roles in this form of teaching. This also allows for a healthy and successful society because everyone has certain standards for being a good guardian.