Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down; however, others believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that there should be no zoo because locking up animals in cages for their entire life is inhuman. Nevertheless, a portion of society says that zoos can help prevent wild animals from danger. This essay will look at both arguments and conclude that zoos provide great protection for wildlife and keep them away from extinction. On the one hand, keeping wild animals in captivity deprives their freedom. Wild animals are kept in limited space, while they can run freely in forests. Therefore, many of them might suffer from boredom and confinement. Moreover, their survival skills are detrimental and cannot be released to nature again. On the other hand, the longevity of zoo animals is much longer than animals living in the wild due to the high level of protection from predators, diseases and natural disasters. When it comes to plagues, the percentage of wild animals surviving is extremely low compared to animals in zoos. Furthermore, many endangered species are helped reproduce by zoologists in zoological parks, thus reducing the rate of extinction. A solid proof can be seen in Chiang Mai Zoo where pandas are successfully reproduced and are not considered endangered species anymore. From my point of view, I find it hard to believe that wildlife parks are cruel and detrimental to animals instincts since plenty of zoos try to mimic natural habitats and simulate their actual living conditions such as having more than one species in one enclosure. Additionally, zoos are way more beneficial to wildlife in terms of conservation. In summary, it is true that zoo animals have limited freedom, however, zoological parks play an important role in the protection of wild animals.