Many people leave their home country and go to other countries to live and work. Why do you think it is happening? Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

These days, it is increasingly common that more and more people decide to go abroad for a better lifestyles and workplace environment. This tendency is given rise to by several reasons and I believe this brings more harm than good to people. To begin with, many people believe that working overseas can bring them plenty of benefits. Firstly, they are opting to work in many enterprises in some developed countries, so they will get a higher incomes than in their homeland. As a consequence, their families' standard of living and economic condition will improve, especially for people who migrate from third world countries to advanced countries. Moreover, they will have an opportunity to discover a new self and this will lead them to a better understanding of their own person. They are gaining more confidence due to the fact that they need to go out and make some new friends. Therefore, the decision of moving abroad demonstrates independence, motivation, maturity, responsibility and the ability to take decisions in their new life. On the other hand, there are some negative things that people should notice. It is vital that living in a foreign country can make individuals get culture shock, as there may be some traditions and customs that might not be suitable with them. They also find some difficulties when intergrating with many new cultures or lifestyles, due to the language barrier. For instance, English speakers find it perfectly normal to use the same greeting (such as “Hi”) in both informal and formal situations, while the speakers of Japanese have a very complex system of greetings, which takes into account several shades of formality. In conclusion, it is true that a huge number of people migrate to other countries for living and working professionals, but from my perspective, there are more drawbacks than benefits, as long as we should take time to adapt to the new culture and environment.