Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether produced food and beverage that retain sugar immoderately ought to be manufactured more high-priced is a controversial issue today. I completely disagree with the measure that sells sugary goods more costly. First of all, I believe that the means violate consumers' fundamental rights what they want to consume. Nowadays, many food items include saccharides and sodiums above the figure that several authoritative organizations (e.g., WHO) recommend. Although many people are already familiar with this fact and easily find out related detailed information on their package or through the internet, they still prefer the food items, as it is very convenient and quite useful. For instance, many busy modern people pick processed foods for their meal as it makes their mealtime saves a lot. Likewise, some people tend to eat chocolates or a coffee or something stimulating refreshments to which they prefer before beginning some hard activities or during these exercises, because they are familiar that it is an effective approach. Therefore, the price of sugary food raise should cause a side effect that restricts someone's suitable food choice depending on their case. Secondly, the practical effect of the measure may be insignificant. Concerning this, we can easily find several countries' data. For example, in the case of France, since the introduction of the sugar tax, the purchase rate of related merchandise has decreased by only 3%. Likewise, in the case of Denmark, they abolished the law, as the tendency that the nation buys other countries' packaged foods had increased dramatically. Moreover, in terms of the economic aspect, we should notice the opinion of some related experts that it will be a burden to low-income households and will even take related people's occupations. Thus, it can be ineffective, unlike the original intention. In conclusion, I strongly believe that increasing sugary products' expenses is ineffective and inefficient.