Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Some would argue the use of social networking among people has increased and it has some pros and cons. Much as sharing some private information on these platforms may cause depression, I believe that its benefits namely raising awareness outweigh the drawbacks. When individuals especially celebrities share their private lives with photos and videos, others particularly teenagers will get depression. It means that they compare their normal conditions with super-luxury lives. Thus, they consider that they are not adequate. For example, one of my friends spent numerous hours on Instagram and followed the actress and after about one year she became severely depressed and now is under the care of a psychologist. However, social media has some hazards, I think it has to do with how we use it. today, the general consensus is that technology is a good thing and social media has created a suitable and vigorous platform to raise public awareness. In fact, on these platforms not only can students participate in distance learning courses around the world but also people can get acquainted with the culture of diverse countries. For instance, when I was learning English, I required a native teacher for improving my accent and I could find a native teacher on YouTube who helped me a lot. Therefore, I strongly believe that these platforms make many opportunities for success. In conclusion, the possibility of personal and social growth on social networks outweighs risks such as intellectual problems. I want to say that if I were the government, I would definitely invest heavily in expanding social media.