Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to secure a good job. Others believe that employers value work experience more than a university degree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is not a secret that all people need, at some time in their life, begin to work dreaming to find a great job. Nevertheless, exist an interesting discussion about what the employers are looking for, university education or work experience. In my opinion, it all depends on the nature of the position. Regarding different occupations is clear that certain ocupations require an academic degree, sometimes a specialization or even a Master's Degree. This condition is clear in the recruitment processes, and for these jobs, no experience background can replace higher education. Examples of such occupations are doctors and engineers. A construction worker who has been working in the industry for ten years, will not become a civil engineer, no matter the experience that he has. This is because these professions require highly specialized knowledge that can only be acquired through many years of higher education. On the other hand, in some industries, work practice is more valuable than a degree. For example, in businesses such as insurance companies, some experienced sellers who only have secondary training, may be promoted to senior positions as Sales Managers, because they have a deep knowledge of how the department works. They clearly have a huge advantage over those with a degree who has just joined the company. Therefore, it is obvious that some jobs require extensive knowledge of the business, and in these cases, employers will prefer those with several years of experience over fresh academy graduates. In conclusion, apparently there is not a single way to obtain a great job. While a university degree is a prerequisite for some positions, work experience may be more important for others. I would highly recommend finding out what it is the desired activity and knowing the requirements to be able to obtain it, can certainly help to make the best decision