Some people claim that there are more disadvandages of car ownership than advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

It is often argued that owning an automobile has more drawbacks compared to the benefits it may bring. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and elaborate on this more in detail. On the one hand, automobile ownership gives more convenience to individuals. Firstly, they can save their precious time by using their own car. For example, even when there is a strong storm or heavy snow that may cause delays for the public transportation systems, private car owners do not get affected, and therefore there is no time to wait. On top of that, people are able to go anywhere and anytime they like. Secondly, they have more freedom and control over a vehicle. It is up to them to arrange the atmosphere inside with favourable music and temperature. On the other hand, there are undeniable disadvantages that may emerge along with the positive outcomes. To begin with, it brings a negative impact on climate change. Individuals' use of their private cars means there are more carbon dioxide emissions, and that will lead to global warming. According to some research, 40% of the causes that leading global warming are coming from emissions of carbon dioxide that are produced by automobiles. Consequently, it is possible to prevent global warming by choosing public transportation systems. Furthermore, another downside of owning a private vehicle is its financial expenses. Needless to say, it costs a huge amount of money to purchase one, and even after buying one, there are continuous costs, such as maintenance fees, insurance, gasoline, and mechanical check charges, to be precise. To conclude, although some people have the desire to own a private transportation system, the negative impact it has on both citizens and the environment is indisputable. For that reason, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.