Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern life, fatal diseases like Covid-19 have put a lot of incredible pressure on the health care system. Some people believe that governing bodies should invest more money in illness prevention than providing treatments for the diseases. I agree with this view since leading a healthy lifestyle is a crucial factor in coping with any health problems. First and foremost, the public purse should be allocated to launch campaigns that can foster citizens' awareness about preventing potential unhealthy risks as preventions are better than cure. In other words, a variety of minor ailments these days are direct consequences of sedentary habits. For instance, an unbalanced diet and irregular exercise may lead to obesity, heart attack, diabetes. Thereby promoting an excellent healthy behaviour and a good diet that is likely to deter severe disorders and can help residents successfully restrain from suffering illness by developing healthy habits. Another justification is that raising public awareness plays a pivotal role in a healthy style of living is much more economical than taking care of people who have already got ill. Taking physical exercises daily will result in fewer patients visiting hospitals, cutting down on the budget spent on improving hospital infrastructure and equipment for medical purposes. For example, a new study from WHO in 2019 shows that each person can save millions of dollars on illness treatment every year by living a healthful life. To conclude, I firmly believe that spending public money on maintaining good health habits is better and not money-consuming on medical infrastructure for curing the sick. Hence, improving a better lifestyle need encouragement.