In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, children's obesity is an ongoing issue in different countries all over the world, and this belief has been accepted by a vast majority of people that governments should take action and face this current predicament. In my opinion, governments play a crucial role to tackle this problem. It is my view that governments should provide healthy programs for children on the media to increase awareness of parents and their children instead of supporting the advertisement for unhealthy and sugary products. It is an undeniable fact that when children and parents see only the fancy face of products and meals, they cannot realize how harmful and risky these are. Thus, they do not know about the devastating effects of the high amount of fat and sugar on their bodies. For example, it is a beneficial idea to make an educational program on TV to explain the calories and amount of fat and sugar which every nutrition contains. In contrast, some people claim that families are responsible for children's overweight, and they have to change their high-fat diet and unhealthy lifestyle. They firmly insist that if parents removed sugary and fast food from their meals, they could control the overweight problem among youngsters. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as if people had the basic knowledge to understand and check the ingredients on food labels. Therefore, they could control the intake of foods that are high in fats, sugar, and salt, it could be a remedy, and it is not necessary to eliminate all their favourite foods. Hence, with an educational program, the government can control the overconsumption of unhealthy foods. In conclusion, I completely agree with this argument that government should have plans to overcome children's obesity. Because increasing the basic knowledge and awareness of people about nutrition and healthy diet and the impact of every portion of them is the government's duty.