All over the world, people watch foreign films much more than locally-produced films. Why? should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

In recent years, movies have gradually become an important part of people's lives. It is true that foreign films are more popular than local movies in some countries and this can be explained for several reasons. So the government should assist the local film industry more. There are various reasons why people prefer imported movies. Firstly, some movies present local culture and features, and people prefer to see these new things rather than things around them. For instance, Chinese Kung Fu films are considerably famous all over the world. The second reason is that film industries in some countries are more developed than the others. Hollywood is a good example of this: there are a number of famous actors, directors and other professional technicians in this area. That is why American movies such as Transformers and Avatar have better special effects and most magnificent scenes. In terms of financial support to local film industries, there is no doubt that the government should give more. Firstly, an increase in job positions can be expected followed by a rise in the amount of financial support. Next, some films can be used as a country's business card to the world; and then will attract substantial tourists to this country; finally bringing far greater returns than an investment to the government. For example, millions of people come to New Zealand because of the popularity of Lord of The Rings, which is partly funded by the authority. In summary, governments should support more to local movie industries allowing them to produce better works to compete with foreign films that dominate the local market currently.