In the future cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be the passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future, vehicles will design to drive automatically without the need for drivers. While there are some drawbacks associated with travelling by these cars, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On one hand, a principal advantage of using driverless cars is that accident car rates will reduce because these cars will be programmed to obey all rules related to driving on streets and highways. Therefore, mistakes that occur by human error will be reduced significantly. For instance, they will obey all the traffic rules and will not drive more than a limited speed in high ways. Another primary advantage is that people have extra time on the way. Since there will be no need for people to drive, they will be able to use their time for other things. For example, passengers can spend their time in the car reading books or newspapers. On the other hand, a potential disadvantage of driving in driverless cars might be no human to control them which is terrifying. As they are just some machines that are not able to think and decide, they will not able to analyze the situation. Thus, they will be not safe and trustworthy. A further perceived benefit is these vehicles will not repair themselves and they require a person to fix them when something will happen to them. To illustrate, when their engine will have a problem and will not work correctly, they cannot move. To conclude, it is true that driving with cars that will have no driver would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its positive effects in terms of obeying the rules as well as having more free time override the advantages.