Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies or interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today, employers often ask people looking for jobs for personal information such as their favourite entertainment, the things they like in their free time and whether they are married or single,… Although some people believe that this information can be useful for employers, others including me would argue that this information should not be asked. One disadvantage of asking for personal information is when an employer is biased towards some people because of their religion or hometown. This lead to injustice in the workplace and can even creat a clash in religious beliefs. this, in turn, cause discouragement in workplace and can have effects on people ’s health. For example in my country, when I went to do a job interview, the interviewer asked me about my religion. Although I did not know the motive behind the question, since I had a minority religion I did not feel well. Another disadvantage is that, some people do not like to share their personal information with others and to prefer keep them secret. Some people think that asking for information could be useful for employers, as they understand the personality types of their future employees. As a result, they choose them in the sections that are matched with their personality. for enstance, if we ask for someone’s free time activities and they tell us that he like sports, we can recognize that they are quite active and suitable for a section that needs active personnel such as mechanical jobs However, competence and being versatile are most important in the workplace. In conclusion, In my opinion, asking for personal information is likely to create problems in workplace. moreover, some people do not like share their personal information. In the workplace experience and competence come first.