it is expected that there will be higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Population explosion is a problem that many nations face. In order to curb this problem, many governments have imposed rules and regulations such as the number of children families can have. As a result, it is forecasted that in these nations the number of older folks will outnumber the young generation in the coming years. Personally, in my opinion, it is a threat to the economy of a country because young folks are the future and backbone of it. The foremost disadvantage of population disproportion is a negative trend is that elders are a burden because of their incapabilities to contribute. For instance, states spend a lot of resources on their retirees' pensions and Japan is already spending more than 60% of its wealth in this regard which results in pressure on the younger generation to pay more taxes. Therefore, governments should not impose rules and regulations to limit the population. Additionally, young individuals are the future and backbone of a nation. They bring innovation to the country. For example, most of the startups are being run by the young community in India which not only help to build a strong economy but also give employment opportunities to others. Consequently, the state does not need to spend money in order to bring workforce from other regions or countries and will not put the load on citizens to work for longer hours. In conclusion, I am inclined to support that putting restrictions to limit the young generation is a negative trend because it will put more pressure on the government to spend more money to provide basic amenities to seniors rather than spending it on building infrastructure. Besides, juniors build the economy of a nation. Having said that, individuals instead should be educated about having a minimum number of children.