Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts around the globe in developed and developing countries have debated whether the utilization of sophisticated modern technology, such as mobile phones and Ipads, has enhanced and improved our social life or whether the opposite has become the case. As evidenced by internet and online platforms like Facebook and Whatsapp, I firmly believe technology brings people together and strengthens our bondings with those around us. Some may argue that there is ample evidence that such technology has detrimental effect on our mental well-being, especially for youngsters, who are easily affected by addictive nature of the internet. Furthermore, cyberspace will cause further isolation from society, and our next generation is unable to develop genuine social skills required for work and social life. Research by the University of Hong Kong has shown over fifty per cent of people spend far more time with mobile phones or online apps such as Youtube, Facebook or Instagram than face-to-face communication with their families or friends. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have diminished our real-life interactions. On the other hand, the multifold advantages of technology cannot be denied. For example, family members in various parts of the world can meet in virtual meetings like Zoom, allowing them to connect freely and easily without geographical barriers, which can enhance the feeling of proximity and closeness. In addition, online platforms and chatrooms bring people with the same interest or hobbies together, allowing discussions and cultivating inspiration, overcoming the barriers of race, time and distance. In times of lockdown during COVID, surfers can communicate with their loved one via Whatsapp and Facebook, thus reducing their sense of loneliness and isolation. All in all, technology has tightened social bonding in our society. To conclude, bonding between the family members, friends and various sectors of the society has strengthened and grown because of the new development of technology. It is foreseeable that, with reasonable policies to address the threats due to overuse, these technology will allow our society to flourish.