Some people say that the experiences a child has before starting school have the most influence on their future life. Others say that experiences as a teenager, especially at school, are more influential. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

While some individuals underscore the importance of the preschool experiences in the adulthood stage, others advocate that attention should be put on their life as teenagers. Having said that, there are rational arguments on both sides of this contentious which will be discussed in detail, followed by my own take on this. On the one hand, experiences that children go through during the first years of their life are crucial as their brain and behaviour will be influenced by them. To put it another way, as an infant, they are gaining information about their surroundings which was not known before; this knowledge will gradually shape their personality. Moreover, every single experience they have will affect their lives as an adult including abuse or sexual assault. Going through these kinds of things would definitely cause depression later on. That is to,say children who have lived in a peaceful family will be more confident and will behave in a good way as they have learnt to be. On the other hand, I personally believe that youngsters would be more influenced by their peers. Indeed, this period is a milestone in their lives since it would be their first experience in society and they will try to adapt to the circumstances. In fact, during this, stage they spend most of their time with their friends who are influenced by hormones as well as they are themselves. This will influence the way they think and behave, and it would the possibility for them to join gangs as they are looking for excitement and want to have their peer’s attention. In other words, parents have to mentor their loved ones during this period as it will have a critical influence on their future lives. In conclusion, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy; on balance, however it is my firm conviction that attention should be paid to the adolescents as they are under the influence of their friends and the society which would encourage misbehaviour.