Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Communication between members has been crucial in maintaining strong bonds in a family. Nowadays, experts suggest that there is decreased interaction within the family. As evidenced by the rising priority of work and career and the advent of computers and technology in our everyday lives, I agree that the reduction in communication between family members is becoming more prevalent. The culprit of this problem lies in modernization. The industrialization of cities has brought about various changes, including changes in people's lifestyles and preferences. Previously, the majority of the society was family-centred, where people spent a large amount of time with their families. However, with modernization, people have grown to be more self-centred, with a shift of priorities from family to work and career development. A striking example would be the long hours people spend at work now, compared with decades ago. Research by the University of Hong Kong revealed that over three-quarters of the population spend over eight hours at work every day including weekends, whereas only less than half of the society spend similar hours at work three decades ago. The longer time parents spend at work, the lesser time for them to chat and take care of their offspring. Consequently, communication within the family would be inevitably compromised. Moreover, the situation is aggravated by advancements in computer technology. Family members are often too busy playing on the computer or roaming online, and gradually become negligent of their loved ones who live with them. Furthermore, crucial face-to-face interactions between family members have drastically reduced, leading to a sense of loneliness and isolation. A good illustration would be my uncle Tim. He lives with his family, but only communicates with them using online tools like Facebook and Whatsapp, and only talks to them once in a blue moon. To conclude, the interaction between family members hsd dramatically reduced nowadays as a result of modernization and the development of online technology. It is crucial that we should look into the crux of this problem and introduce measures to avoid further communication breakdown in families