In many countries, people are working increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative effect?

In today’s rapid and highly advanced society, spending the majority of our time working has become commonplace across the globe. I believe that the reasons for this trend can come down to(involve) two main aspects, economic and cultural impact, and the phenomenon of longer working hours is certainly unsustainable and negative for both individuals and the entire society. Economic and cultural factors are the main reasons that drive people to do so. Firstly, as urbanization develops, more youngsters tend to take their chances in bigger cities where the living cost can be extremely high. Therefore, in order to meet their daily needs and wants, these people must work longer hours to earn more money. Secondly, in some economically thriving countries, their societies have witnessed an ongoing trend of competitive culture in the last decade. This means that being busy has already become a unique lifestyle which helps people to feel confident and independent. For example, more and more Chinese young people are choosing to invest their time in work instead of social bonding to protect their personalities and more importantly, to become economically self-sufficient as well. However, in my view, working increasingly longer hours, in the long run, can be totally terrible. For individuals, if they stay in a highly-focused or exhausting environment for a long time, chances are high that they would be caught up in some health problems, say insomnia or even worse, depression. For instance, according to a study conducted by scholars at Peking University, there are around a 100million people in China who are diagnosed with different levels of mental diseases, largely due to pressure from work. On the other hand, if companies in society keep draining people ’s energy and talents without enough vacations or welfare for employees, the current development will be stuck in a halt in the immediate future. In conclusion, working longer hours is enhanced by most people ’s underlying belief that the harder they work, the sooner they will achieve their goals and the more independent they will become. But we must understand that this is not beneficial for our mental health and overall wellness in the long term.