Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have dissenting views about whether youngsters nowadays are supposed to comply with the social conventions or feel free to show their individual personalities. While there are certain benefits that can be gained from obeying social norms, I would argue that it is important to encourage young people to have their own beliefs. Someone would say the reason for young people ’s compliance with society is that it can help to preserve the good values and cultural identity in one community. Although social norms can sometimes mean restraints on young people, say the occupation or marriage choice, they also involve certain traits that are beneficial to society. For example, if younger people could learn the importance of respect, they will treat the elders as a source of wisdom instead of a burden to society. In addition, these traditions often encourage the young generation to put collective interests in the first place. Accordingly, a healthier social atmosphere will be created. However, on the other hand, in today’s modern society it is much more vital to have a group of youngsters with independent spirits, which in turn boosts creativity. If a 20-year-old citizen knows to break the conventional practices, he/she is likely to achieve progress and innovation. For instance, many NBA players were raised in ghettos and could have ended up being in gangs or caught up in crimes. It is their courage and confidence to question the status quo that has made their dreams come true. There are also young scientists at home and abroad who are inspired to make greater contributions to their society instead of excessively extracting resources from it. In conclusion, although following the social mainstream plays a pivotal role in protecting the essence of one society, we should not let these norms stand in the way of young people ’s growth into more adventurous ones.