In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is a common belief that young people take a year off to work or travel after high school and start tertiary education. The present essay shall attempt to cast light on the benefits and drawbacks of this approach. To begin with, one reason why youngsters gap a year to work or travel is that they can gain valuable experience and also save some money. Students, for instance, are able to select a work and holiday visa in another country like Australia to take a job and travel. As a result, they can accumulate life experience and simultaneously have more time to consider their own direction. Another benefit could be that they also earn money to help pay for education, which is not inexpensive. One downside of this trend is that employment can deviate younger students from further studies. May bring out the desire in them to continue earning money, which would make them lack interest in further learning. Another drawback is that they may lose interest in their own culture while travelling abroad. The new culture can attract them, thereby they would begin admiring the host country’s culture, as well as stop pursuing their own traditions. For example, research by Oxford University reveals that after switching off a year in a western country, Asian students begin to praise the culture of the host country and abandon their own culture. To sum up, despite the gap of a year to work or travel between high school and university learning has some beneficial outcomes, but hindering them from further study, as well as stopping appreciating their own traditional values are negative outcomes.