sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion..

There is no doubt that holding a mass sporting event will provide great visibility to the nation. While some believe that hosting an international event will bring in more drawbacks, I tend to think that it will in fact be beneficial. On one hand, it is not easy to handle international games such as the Olympics, and it will cost the country a huge amount to be the host. This is because the government needs to spend money on building new stadiums, accommodation for the athletes and improvisation of existing public infrastructures. Furthermore, taxpayers tend to think that it is a wasted effort, where the investment would have been better used elsewhere as it will not be beneficial for the public. In addition, new facilities which were built mainly for the occasion will only be used for a certain period thus creating space problems. For instance, plenty of football stadiums in Brazil were left to be white elephants in the nation after the World Cup tournament mainly due to the high cost of maintenance. On the other hand, a major opportunity on hosting a mega-event is something that every country is always looking forward to. It will help the government to show the world their capability on how efficiently they conduct it. It further promotes various job opportunities thus spurring the economy which will be crucial for the growth of the nation. For instance, many sports enthusiasts will travel to the country for the games and it will create a huge demand on hotels, transportation, and the food industry. In conclusion, even though a huge commitment is needed to conduct an international sports event, the benefits seem to be greater as it brings the global view and helps in the progress of a nation whereas the drawback is manageable if proper measures are taken.