Some people believe that the experiences children have before they go to school will have the greatest effect on their future life. Others argue that experiences gained when they are teenagers have a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Many would argue that experiences with the greatest impact occur before one becomes a teenager. In my opinion, the most pivotal stages of development in fact take place during one’s teenage years. The argument for the primacy of childhood experiences is supported by years of psychological research. In the early 20th century, researchers such as Jean Piaget began to analyze and perform experiments on young children in order to verify theories about how the human mind develops. Over the last century, these studies have evolved and it is now commonly accepted in the field of psychology that very early experiences definitively shape one’s later personality and identity. This is particularly the case when a child undergoes trauma such as abuse or neglect at home. These children are then more likely to have mental health disorders later in life and suffer generally from low self-esteem. However, decisions made as a teenager are more directly impactful on the future. The arguments made above are compelling but also difficult to verify beyond the purely theoretical. The choices a teenager makes have tangible effects. Most teenagers begin to settle into distinct social groups that will help inform their future identity, take up potentially lasting hobbies, choose the sports they will play later in life, and may even decide on a future career. The experiences a teenager gains through these activities will in turn allow them to shift their focus in life, such as by pursuing a scientific rather than artistic field in higher education. In conclusion, despite the research showing the impact of childhood development, there are more important practical life choices made as a late adolescent. Therefore, it is key that teenagers are supported fully by both parents and teachers.