Some people believe that governments should spend on new public buildings, such as libraries and museums, rather than renovating old buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is highly debatable that authorities should spend money on the construction of the new public libraries and museums. Some people are in its favour whereas others opine that funds should be allocated for the renovation of old buildings because these are heritage. I partially agree with the above notion and will explain reasons in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, if governments spend money on new buildings like libraries and museums, it will bring more safety. Spending money on seeking help from many architects and geological scientists before the construction of public buildings can make these buildings more durable. In addition, new buildings can easily access the new technology to gain the interest of viewers around the globe. For example, a survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 revealed that a large number of tourists were attracted to the newly constructed public buildings when governments provided many facilities like Wi-fi and escalators in such buildings. On the other hand, there are many reasons why some people are in favour of spending money on old buildings. Primarily, old buildings are the heritage of any nation and these can be a base root to connect the sentiments of the new generation with their ancestors. Hence, it will enhance patriotic feelings among young ones if authorities allocate a considerable fund to renovate old buildings. Moreover, old buildings can assist the new generation to understand and observe not only the lifestyle of that time but also give a vast knowledge of their various artistic methods. For instance, sign language and wall designs can be used in reasearch on old civilizations. Thus, such buildings require a financial aid from governments. To conclude, in my opinion, the government should spend money on both new and old buildings because both are important for society.