Some people believe that the experiences children have before they go to school will have the greatest effect on their future life. Others argue that experiences gained when they are teenagers have a bigger influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

The early years in life are the bedrock to success. Many argue, that raising an infant with a multitude of experiences shapes his or her future, whereas others believe that the adolescent journey has a higher impact. In this essay, we will navigate both the arguments and my viewpoint on the juvenile period being crucial. To commence with, foundation years assist a child to learn cardinal values. In other words, it’s an arduous time for the parents to explain to their offspring, appropriate behaviour. For instance, respecting grandparents by taking their blessings or as simple as chewing food properly or tying a knot of shoes. Perhaps building social skills is significant at this age too because it was observed post-Covid lockdown that babies were only comfortable with their immediate family and were shy when extended family would visit. Thus, taking them to a play area may help in building the relationships effectively. Consequently, toddlers will sail through easily during their academic years with learnt attitude and behaviour. Furthermore, teenagers reminisce about their early adulthood more than their earlier life which builds their overall personality. To elaborate on this, a person predominantly remembers their higher education days. Firstly, if they were bullied as a teen then they may have low self-esteem. Additionally, their journey ahead would have traces of these incidents which would be ingrained in their subconscious mind forever. Secondly, there is a remarkable influence of peers during this part which decides their behaviour. For example, out of curiosity bunch of friends may start smoking and that could turn into an addiction for a lifetime. Lastly, competitive spirit and seriousness toward life start cultivating before twenty years of age by scoring well in the examinations or achieving medals in different activities. Therefore, this may lead to focus on a perfect career stream. To summarise, although basic values taught by parents are building blocks in an infant’s life, I believe good or bad experience during thirteen to nineteen years moulds their later part of life. From my perspective, correct encouragement during the teenage phase will assist the human being to move on the correct pathway rather than getting involved in the wrongdoings.