Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether the extinction of plants and animals is of dominant importance people hold different views. In my opinion, I tend to argue that there are many other environmental troubles that are of great urgency. Admittedly, a wide range of species is on the verge of dying out, although they play a significant role in maintaining the balance of the ecological system. It is universally acknowledged that every kind of flora and fauna has a unique status in the environment, and the variety of species is favourable to the stability of that, which provides a solid foundation for people to acquire abundant natural resources and have a steady agricultural activity. For example, the number of insects would jump rapidly if their predators are overhunted by humans, which could eventually damage the yield of crops. Consequently, people might suffer a shortage of food. However, I believe that people face more difficulties in the field of environment. The primary consideration is that the pollution of water has resulted in fierce problems. With the advancement of industrialization, there are more plants which require a quantity of water and produce numerous polluted water, some of which runs into rivers without purification. This asserts a devastating impact on freshwater which humans rely on and creatures which live in the rivers. In addition, the emission of carbon dioxide damages the original temperature level, and the increased climate poses a threat to human, of which extreme weather condition, such as flood, is a telling example. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that besides the extinction of species, we cannot afford to neglect other environmental problems as well since these issues are closer to our daily life. Furthermore, the solution to other troubles could also be conducive to protecting biological diversity.