Governments should spend spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of transportation, some people advocate that it is better to spend more budget and effort on the public transport than on roads. Others, however, suggest that both are essential for traffic development in a country. I agree with the attention on railways. This essay will discuss the causes according to traffic jams and environmental issues. The more construction of public transportation is developed, the more commuters will travel without using vehicles on roads. Thus, there is decreasing the possibility of traffic congestion. Because of the increasing requirements of transportation, such as railway, the government should spend more endeavors and financial support on the public transport rather than on roads. If there is a small number of road needs, the budget could reduce in this aspect. Both developments in transportation and on the roads will destroy the environment and produce pollution during the period of construction. However, if commuters take public transport, carbon dioxide emissions would decrease by reducing the usage of motorcycles, cars, and lorries on roads. For example, in Taipei, the worst magnitude of air pollution in Taipei resulted from the highest density of scooters on roads in the past decade. Thanks to the development of the railway system, the index of air quality improves significantly without numerous scooters and exhausted gases. Due to the carbon zero policy, the government should address on development of railways and encourage passengers to utilize the railways to their destination. In conclusion, spending more effort and money on the railways can not only lessen the traffic jams on roads but also reduce pollution in our environment. Thus, the official organizations should focus on the railway rather than the roads.