Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Smartphone screen time accounts for a large portion of some children's time daily.There could be several reasons behind this, but personally, I assume this trend is a result of poor parenting strategies.There might be minor benefits emerging from this phenomenon but I consider it mostly as a negative trend. Firstly, it might be reasonable to assume that low-quality guidance exerted by parents is responsible for this behaviour.Limiting and cutting off unnecessary smartphone usage of the child could be done by parents from a young age,but instead,some guardians let toddlers use mobile phones as an incentive. For example, when kids are left alone without a playmate,one way of keeping their state of mind in stability is to use thevariety of entertainment functions that a smartphone has to offer.Most parents take shortcuts and use this method due to the fact that they would not have to rely on their physical involvement as the pacifier. Consequently,a child becomes accustomed to the smartphone and would demand it more in the future. Hence, a gradual rise in screen time occurs. Moreover,several severe health issues stemming from the excessive usage of smartphones could possibly outweigh their potential benefits.Childs may experience an increase in cognitive abilities, since some games stimulate critical thinking. However,since being healthy is widely accepted to be the most crucial quality for an individual, a surge in the functionality of the grey matter cannot surpass the drawbacks.Chronic smartphone addiction at young age might impact optical abilities as well as the nervous system. For instance,experts have found that a higher percentage of people who have high early exposure to appliances such as smartphones is more likely to suffer eye diseases. In conclusion,in my personal opinion, parents play a great role in encouraging young children to immerse themselves in mobile phones. This trend remains negative since it is detrimental to well-being.