It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Failures have long been an intrinsic part of life. Though it possesses potential demerits, from my perspective, I firmly believe that embracing risks is a requirement for an individual to flourish in life and career. Firstly, it is clear that risks are necessary for one’s competencies to be discovered. In fact, repetitive and familiar practices cannot reveal hidden abilities due to their need for known skills. Hence, it is vital to admit that latent talents can only be seen when one escapes from the comfort zone to venture and broaden the horizon. An example of this justification is Bill Gates, who quit his formal education at Harvard to pursue his great passion for computer technology, knowing that his prospects were unsecured, and subsequently become one of the most thriving and influential magnates, and perhaps the happiest man of the world. Secondly, no significant achievements in a career can be obtained without accepting potential failures. Obviously, the business environment is extremely competitive and anyone who is not ready for ventures could be eliminated. As a result, the feature of willing to self-challenge and try novel approaches that have never been employed is required to become exceptional, thereby ensuring job security and business success. An example of this argument is that Larry Page and Sergey Brin, who were postgraduates, had come up with the idea of establishing Google, an unprecedented search engine as well as a stunning innovation, in 1998 and it has greatly impacted the world and provided them with a great fortune since then. In conclusion, despite all the possible drawbacks brought by risks and failures, I strongly believe that they can be eclipsed by the prospect of success it may offer to every individual in terms of personal fulfilment and business development.