Some people believe the government should spend money on building trains and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

What should be done to deal with traffic jams is often a topic of debate. Some individuals think that the authority ought to invest in the construction of trains and subway lines, while others argue roads should be built more and widened. This essay will discuss both views and express my approval of the former idea. On the one hand, constructing more and wider roads can contribute significantly to the decrease in traffic congestion. The road system is inadequate to cope with the large volume of vehicles, especially in city centres. To explicate, the existing roads are not wide enough to accommodate the number of cars and motorbikes on the roads, thus leading to traffic jams. Besides, if there are better networks of roads, people will be able to take alternative routes to avoid crowds when traffic congestion occurs. For example, in Ha Nam, residents can have various routes to choose if they want to go to work, so traffic congestion rarely happens there. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the government spending money on building trains and subway lines is a more effective solution to the problem of traffic jams. Firstly, these means of public transport can carry a considerable number of passengers at once. Therefore, this may relieve the pressure on roads. For instance, subways in New York can travel at the highest speed of 89km/h, and about 5 million commuters use them as the main method of travelling. Secondly, in some nations, there is not enough land available to construct or extend roads. By contrast, a subway network can be built underground and there is no need to worry about the scarcity of land. In conclusion, although it is true that building more and wider roads reduces traffic congestion, I believe the authority should allocate funds to build trains and subway lines. Passengers should also be encouraged to use public transport more to decrease traffic jams and better the environment.