Nowadays many countries have very cosmopolitan cities with people from all over the world. How can government ensure that all these people can live together harmoniously?

In today's cosmopolitan world, in many major cities or countries, there are a lot of immigrants. As people travel more now than they ever did in the past and populations have had to adapt to this transitional lifestyle much more quickly than in the past, the government can do a number of things to support this, such as offering the proper education at schools besides free language courses for the immigrants. Firstly, all governments should insist that schools teach history and culture from more than one country, not just the home nation. This is because by learning how others have lived, we gain insight into alternative cultures and ways of life, which makes us more accepting when we meet people from those countries. Clearly, we don't have time to learn about the history of every country in the world, but understanding at least one other culture opens our minds and makes us more tolerant. For example, since Australian schools have included world cultures in their curriculum, aggression among students from different cultures has considerably decreased. In addition, when immigrants choose to settle in a country, the host government should offer free language and culture lessons. This is due to the fact that it is impossible for new arrivals to integrate if they do not understand the language and habits of their new home. Plus, it is important for immigrants to learn the culture of the place they have chosen to settle since by acquiring the language and knowledge about the culture, they will be able to integrate more easily and comfortably without necessarily losing their own identity. For instance, because of the language courses that have been offered for free at Bielefeld University in Germany, the international students have claimed that they feel a stronger sense of self as they can interact a lot easier with their classmates and German society. In conclusion, understanding others is the key to harmonious living, but proper education and free services for immigrants should also be in place to protect people from those who can't behave responsibly.