Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some employers expect their resources to be available all days irrespective of holidays and other occasions. In my opinion, this is beneficial in some ways but has more detrimental effects on both companies as well as individuals. On the one hand, it is an advantage for the organizations as following up with the workers will establish better communication and prevent any possible issues from taking place. As a result, anomalies can be detected and mitigated ahead of time. For instance, when an incident occurs on weekend, communicating with the staff can result in resolving the issue without aggravating the situation. Moreover, it improves the efficiency of the employee which in turn helps in their career development. There are numerous drawbacks to companies closely monitoring their staff. Firstly, employees lose their leisure time, which can result in a lack of motivation and disrupt their work -life balance. Consequently, this can lead to negative effects such as a toxic work environment and a lack of leisure time to spend time with family and friends. Furthermore, employees may lose interest in work and tend to give reasons to escape from working in the long run. Besides this, companies have to face serious consequences related to employee retention and the losses that may incur due to low productivity. In conclusion, it has some positive development, but there are more negative impacts with employers reaching out to their resources related to work. Therefore, it is necessary for companies to interact with their employees only during work hours as this will benefit both organization and staff.