In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Had fast food not existed, would many individuals overeating it in some lands have less health issues. The problematic nature of the mentioned type of food is being tried to be solved with policies like higher tax rates for it. The latter can be viewed as vital or not looking at its benefits and drawbacks. To embark on, raising the level of tax for fast food goods can be effective from some perspectives. Probably, a higher price would have a consequence of a lower figure of poorer members of society buying this type of products. Inevitably, it would become essential for those humans to start considering other choices for nurturing themselves. Choices such as fruits and vegetables, which are regarded as more healthy most times, might become increasingly attractive. Furthermore, the dip of quickly prepared food consumption might lead to a plummeted calorie intake for many individuals. For this reason, it is possible that not that many members of society would suffer from obesity, which is typically caused by overeating. Many other problems, for instance, insufficient intake of vitamins, which in rapid time presented foods do not contain a lot, may be solved. In spite of the described positive impacts, the outcome of a heightened tax rate for in a quick time processed foods might also be negative or without impact. Firstly, it is possible that many may begin to start having mental health problems. In fact, tasty food is well-known to release the happiness hormone dopamine, which triggers a rewarding feeling. Some might have not been advised how to deal with not experiencing this emotion due to not being able to afford products causing it. What is more, this proposed solution would not affect the audience of the rich. They are able to afford what they want at almost any costs, hence, an adequate tax upswing is predicted to impact this group only very lightly. This allows to conclude that although the discussed idea of making the costs of fast food go up, utilizing governmental tools, may seem an attractive one, it could be useful only to a limited extent. The emotional well-being of humans and the unaffected rich are elements that empower this view. Hence, these may be reasons why this is not implemented fully in many places of the world and there is a reasonable ground for agreeing with them.