Nowadays, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think it is negative for children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current era, many advertisements are dedicated to the young audience. While some people think that these commercials should be banned for having a negative impact on children, others don't share the same opinion. This essay will discuss in the following paragraphs the arguments on why I definitely agree with the fact that these advertisements cause harm to the youth and should be restricted. On one hand, TV commercials should not be aimed at children because they are easily influenced by external factors and are not able to distinguish between right and wrong. Advertising can contain violence and abuse, impacting negatively the kids, therefore causing psychological damage to their immature brains. To illustrate this, I've read social research conducted by an American university that proved the negative impact of violence on kids and proved that it can cause some serious damage and harm in the long term. Thus, youth should be kept away from these types of promotions. Moreover, the young audience is easily distracted by the colours and graphs when an advertisement is aimed particularly at them. These latest are designed to be captivating to keep their attention, and consequently can distract them from their studies which leads to poor academic results. Furthermore, some products can cause harm to children's health, such as fast food commercials, which increase the youth's desire to consume them and impacts them negatively by causing obesity and cardiovascular problems. To summarize, I personally agree with the fact that advertisements can have a negative impact on the young population and that kids should stay away from televisions and social media until they reach an age when they are mature enough to make their own grown-up decisions.