Some students nowadays prefer to study online through online courses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning online?

In this essay, I will consider the advantages and disadvantages of online learning. I will begin by discussing how studying via the internet opens opportunities to many and then explore the drawbacks. In doing so, this response will outline the pros and cons of online education. To begin with, there are a plethora of benefits associated with technology usage. For example, the web allows learners to access a diverse range of knowledge by themselves rather than having to rely on hardcopies and teachers. An added benefit is that it allows one to partake in inquiry-based learning, which - many studies demonstrate - helps develop metacognitive skills and independence. Furthermore, courses, more often than not, come with hefty price tags; however, the internet allows for this treasured knowledge and information to be more accessible through largely free resources, such as YouTube and blogs. Nevertheless, there are negatives with such technological-fueled practices. With the rise of the internet, people have access to an incredible amount of content. While this may seem advantageous, a lot of research draws attention to the repercussions of information overload. A child, for instance, may swiftly be overwhelmed by the heaps of tools available that they may lose sight of what they were searching and, in consequence, find this mode of education a harrowing experience. Moreover, some academics have a genuine concern that a person may receive surface-level knowledge than an in-person class. Thus, there are positives to online learning, but there are also disadvantages. Awareness of both should help in deciding when it is appropriate to study through the aid of educators and books, and when technology-mediated learning is preferable.