In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it became more popular in many areas of the world to notice restrictions regarding smoking in public spaces and that smokers need to leave closed spaces if they wish to light up a cigarette. In my personal point of view, I completely agree with these rules and this essay will further elaborate on my opinion in the following paragraphs. To begin with, smoking in closed spaces exposes the whole population to the risk of passive smoking. In other words, when a person smokes near others, he/she emits dangerous substances that non-smokers inhale unconsciously, which can lead to serious respiratory problems. To illustrate, many recent studies on this issue proved that the exposition to passive smoking increases the risk of asthma and lung cancer. Thus, it is beneficial to restrict smoking in closed areas, especially in crowded places. Moreover, making smoking illegal in public areas has many other benefits, such as the protection of others, particularly kids who are fragile and need to be protected against illnesses by promoting a healthy environment. Furthermore, forcing smokers to go outside in order to light up a cigarette might have a positive impact on them as well, making them lazier and therefore a drop in the rates of smoking might be noticed. For example, the company I work for restricted smoking in the office and many employees gave up on smoking because of these rules while others lowered their consumption of nicotine. To summarize, I personally claim that smoking should be restricted in public places, especially closed ones, in order to protect the overall health of non-smokers, taking into consideration the wellness of kids, and also to lower the rates of consumption of nicotine among smokers.