Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The topic of economic progress is one of the most controversial and debated in almost every country. While some governments believe that economic development is very important, people believe there are many other developments that can help a country to progress as much as the economic one. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in depth and argue in favour of the latter. Many governments concentrate a wide amount of their resources on economic progress. They have reasons to believe that this will help their country in terms of the well-being of the population and companies or for the positive climate on the possible future investment. For example, the governments that have a strong economy can reduce the tax burden or increase salaries, and the population will have major chances to find a job, additionally, the favourable climate of a country also generates positive expectations of investments and this attracts the attention of the newest investor which generates a virtuous cycle. The authorities have good reasons to assume that the economic side is important. On the other hand, some people do not think that the most important progress is the economy, but they consider also different types of progress as important, like tourism or technological development or the educational system that contributes equally to the welfare of a country. Investing in tourism brings a wide amount of money, people travel and when they are abroad, they want to visit as much as possible, and necessarily they spend on attractions or on restaurants, feeding the economy of the country through tourism, in a parallel way. The educational system represents another big piece in parallel with the economic one, if a country does not invest in the young population, they escape to other States and only a little number will return back because if there is not a good scholastic system, find a satisfying career is furthermore impossible. For these reasons, there are some people in contrast the view that considers only important economic progress. As far as I am concerned, I believe that the economy is not the most important factor to consider, because there are other parallel developments that can help a State to increase the economic flow, and if they are focused only on this one, they lose at the start. In conclusion, should Governments consider only economic progress? Many States use this approach, and some people believe that is wrong. This essay argued this deal considering two sides of the debate and discussed the various reasons why Governments sometimes think differently from some people moreover adding my point of view.