In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Driverless cars are in their infancy; however, developments in the field are quickly progressing, and what was once an idealistic vision of futuristic sci-fi movies has been closer to reality than ever before. In my opinion, although autonomous vehicles may pose some disadvantages, their capability of providing safety and ameliorating several socio-environmental issues is more prominent. On one hand, there are possible disadvantages related to computers. The first issue is hacking, springing from the fact that data, such as traffic flows, road congestions or optimal routes, that assists the auto-pilot system is constantly collected via the global networks - the Internet and an array of land-sat satellites. Therefore, the risk of privacy exposure is present. Both the car, driver and passengers are vulnerable to hackers as they can trace destinations and steal personal information. Another concern is the unreliability of computer systems. Computers do crash, and, unlike a desk-based operator, any malfunction in a car can lead to catastrophic consequences whilst moving on a busy road. Nevertheless, not only are mentioned drawbacks minor, but the rate of occurrence is also significantly low. Numerous advantages that automation offers are far beyond that extent. Along with the convenience of being driven around, autonomous cars can eradicate human errors; more than 90% of road accidents come from human behaviours, such as speeding, drowsiness or impairment due to alcohol and drugs. While humans are fallible, reckless and distracted, AI and clever algorithms are not, providing safer rides for passengers. In addition, AI can calculate optimal driving courses in real time to reduce bottleneck problems in high-density urban centres and consecutively cut down on fuel consumption. The cost of commuting is also slashed remarkably. In conclusion, autonomous vehicles' potential is more visible despite some disadvantages. They will drastically improve humanity's life quality in the future, which include increasing safety, declining traffic jams and lessening human carbon footprints on the Earth.