Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Being a member of a society means that a person must know how to behave and how to take part in it. To do so, some people said that it is the parents ' responsibility, whilst others think that school is a better place to learn that. Therefore, in this essay, I would like to examine both views and give a plausible conclusion regarding that matter. Firstly, talking about the number-one view about parents duty in these terms. As we have known, parents are the first adults that the children meet. For this reason, It is their responsibility to give a good example to their children. Why did I say that? It is simply because young people do not have their role model in the early phase of their life and the only thing that they see is their parents. So, it is very common for children to copy their attitude and use that to communicate with others. For example, Indonesian parents always act friendly wherever they are and their children will see that as the common act. Thus, when they see a neighbour comes across their house, they will say "hi". In short, we can see that the role of parents is very big in this field. It is because they are a role model of their kids no matter what. On the other hand, some may say that school is a good place to learn how to be a good member of society. It is true that it is a necessary place, but it is just a second -place which means it jobs just to perpetuate what their father and mother have taught to the kids and ensure that these young people understand the meaning of being a part of the community. It is very useless if their parents never teach them about it because what they have known in the early phase of their life may be ingrained to their brain and it is hard to be removed. For instance, a child, who has never been taught to respect others since a kid, finds difficulties in coping with his friends, even though the teacher tries to teach him. It is because he thinks that it is ok to behave like that since his parent never minds about it. In a nutshell, even though school is a spot to learn about that, I think, parental role in social education is much more important since they are the first human beings that have an interaction with the kids and it instantly creates the assumption that their parents are a good model. Hence, in the end, I support the first view that it is the parents ' responsibility to give guidance about taking part in society.