Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments should invest money in railways instead of roads. I completely agree with this point of view because railways are more environmentally friendly and also play a key role in economic activity. Funding railways encourage green travel. Improving roads may result in more people using their cars, and the more cars on the road, the more carbon emissions. However, if governments build more subway or tram lines to make it easier for people to ride them to get around, more people will choose them rather than private cars as their major means of travel. This is good for the environment because, compared with private vehicles, subway and tram trains have a much larger capacity and therefore much lower per-capita carbon emissions. In addition, railway networks are crucial for economic activity. This is because, with these networks connecting different cities and even countries, goods can be shipped fast and cost-effectively. Take, for example, the China-Europe rail line Express, which moves cargo containers from China to London in only 18 to 19 days. This is roughly half the transit time of an ocean container. And the cost is around ten times cheaper than making use of air freight. This means that goods can be delivered in time with relatively low costs from source to consumption for Black Fridays or for any other promotional activities that take place in the. Although road transport is also cost-effective, it cannot provide the speed that railway transport does. In conclusion, government spending should be on rail line rather than roads. For one thing,better railway services encourage eco-friendly travel and, for another, they play a big part in economic activity.