In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an excessive amount of money is spent on making oneself appear younger because many people are influenced by social media. In my opinion, this is certainly not a sign of positive development as it could be nocive to health. To begin with, today, it has become common for lots of people to visit beauty salons in order to modify their external appearance in the way they want. This phenomenon emerged after certain celebrities on social media started posting photos containing their much younger looks. For instance, a famous American model named Kylie Jenner usually posts videos and images of her on Facebook which suggest that she is just 25 years old but in the reality,she is 50 years old. Indeed, surprised by this amazing transformation, millions of her followers started doing the same by spending thousands of dollars in beauty clinics. So, this is the reason why many want to alter their looks. Secondly, I believe that the negative side of this trend is the long-term side effects of treatments undergone in order to have better physical looks. For instance, during facial surgery, a large number of chemical substances are used. As a result, over a period of time one may suffer from allergies. Consequently, he or she could even spoil his or her natural appearance if this disease becomes severe. So, this is a major drawback. To conclude, I opine that one should be confident about the way he or she appears and should be aware of the consequences of trying to imitate other people.