In the past, the role of the teacher was to provide information. Today, students have access to wide resources of information. There is, therefore, no role for teachers in modern education. Do you agree or disagree?

In previous years, educators were supposed to be informants for students. However, in recent years, with the continuous advancement of science and technology, information has become more and more developed. There are two different views on the role of mentors. One of them is that the teacher's role is no longer important in teaching because students can obtain learning resources through different channels. But I firmly believe that nothing can take the place of the teacher in education. On the one hand, technology is becoming more and more advanced, and the channels for people to obtain information have become diverse, which is especially evident during the Covid-19 pandemic. Students are taking online classes at home, improving themselves by searching for learning resources on the Internet, and even learning important knowledge points that some teachers do not mention in school. Schooling, on the other hand, incorporates a holistic approach that enables students to understand different theories and their applications in real life. While there are many resources online, we cannot rely solely on them as they are not always based on correct information and may even mislead us. Teachers with professional knowledge and ability will ensure that the knowledge learned by students is correct and accurate. Furthermore, existing theories can be learned from multiple sources of information, but in order to explore new ideas, concepts, or discover new things, students need expert help which cannot be done any other way. For example, the supervisor would share his own past research experience and valuable perspectives with the students, while the online resources hardly helped me establish the basic idea of the research. In short, academicians are an integral part of the educational world. Different sources of wisdom may help to understand things better, but that is nothing compared to what a teacher does.