While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

While the level of happiness among citizens living in developing countries is rising, society in developed nations is reportedly becoming unhappier. This essay will elaborate on several reasons for this problem and suggest some lessons that can be learnt from this. On the one hand, there are two possible reasons attributed to this phenomenon. To begin with, due to economic progress, citizens living in underdeveloped nations are more satisfied with their lives. This is because economic growth is associated with the improvement in various domains such as healthcare, infrastructure and so on. Hence, individuals' basic necessities can be fulfilled which contributes to a better living standard for people. In contrast, this is not the case for society living in developed countries where they have to cope with the pressure of trying to succeed. A fast-paced life requires people to work around the clock with the aim of achieving desired goals. Consequently, individuals may find it difficult to balance their work with other aspects of life. They are more prone to chronic stress and burnout, which affect adversely both mental and physical well-being. On the other hand, there are two lessons that can be learnt from this issue. Chief of these is that holistic development of the economy plays a vital role in creating a happier life. If society's life is stable with advanced technology and connectivity, they can live without any worries over how to make ends meet. Therefore, citizens' stress can be significantly alleviated; which helps increase the level of well-being. Furthermore, balanced material progress with social connections and community engagement is also needed. By having a work- life balance, people are able to spend quality time with their family and friends in order to strengthen family bonds, which helps them enhance life satisfaction and happiness. In conclusion, economic development is a crucial reason leading to the happiness of less-developed countries, while the pressure of being successful triggers an unhappy life for those living in first-world nations. From this phenomenon, we can learn that both a comprehensively developed economy and work- life balance are of utmost importance factors to ensure people's well-being.