Climate change is one of the biggest environmental problems of the 21st century. Some people think that humans should stop using oil, gas and coal and switch to alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others claim that fossil fuels are essential for many industries, and not using them will result in economic recession. What is your opinion? Support your point of view with relevant examples.

Climate change is one of the largest challenges that people face in this century. However, this is a controversial topic due to the varying opinions of differing groups. One mode of thought, which prevails in the popular mood, is for the onset of renewables on an industrial scale. Contrastingly, others believe fossil fuels are necessary to maintain the current economic system. In my opinion, the use of sustainable sources should be given priority. Firstly, the abusive nature of oil and gas leads to a deterioration of the environment, which has been evidenced in recent times. For example, the rising global temperatures are causing the ice caps to melt which are impacting the level of the oceans, which in turn, are precipitating adverse weather conditions in many parts of the world. Under these circumstances, using clean energy is a necessity, rather than a choice. Moreover, climate change is here in the present and not in a distant future. The effects of this phenomenon are now visible. As an example, studies have shown that there is a direct correlation between unusual weather conditions and increased heat. Secondly, alternative sources of energy can be made economically viable in the long run. To begin with, the exploitation of such energies will give rise to new industries. This, in turn, will result in more employment opportunities. Furthermore, new research can help in making these energies more efficient so that they can be used in traditional industries. For instance, in countries like Germany and the Netherlands, wind power is extensively used by households and the manufacturing industry. Thus, with time, renewable fuels can contribute to the development of the economy. In conclusion, I think alternative modes of power should be reinforced in the forthcoming decades, due to all the advantages they will create.